Area News

Stay up to date with business news and events happening in Crawford County

CRAWFORD COUNTY, IND – The Community Foundation of Crawford County (CFCC) is pleased to announce its 2022 Scholarship recipients. The CFCC distributed 36 scholarship awards to 14 students based on donor designated criteria while using a double blind selection process. These scholarships were awarded from 31 CFCC endowed scholarship funds and from Lilly Endowment Inc., which funds the Community Foundation of Crawford County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship award.   

Laken Fraime, CFCC’s Finance and Program Manager said, “We were so excited to have the opportunity to celebrate and honor these deserving seniors. We look forward to watching them grow in the next step of their lives. We hope you will view their photos on Facebook at CFCC4ever.”   

The 2022 scholarships awarded are as follows: 

Carly Marie Birkla Memorial Scholarship – Taylor Herbaugh, Laken Hollen 

Carr Family Memorial Scholarship – Ty Kalk 

Crawford County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship – Hunter Conrad 

Crawford‐Harrison Bar Association Scholarship – Joshua Talley 

Crawford County Paul W. Ogle Scholarship – Nicholas Fow, Mattie Pope 

Donald E. Sloan & A. Aledia Sloan Memorial Scholarship – Mattie Pope   

Dr. Herbert E. Smith Scholarship – Laken Hollen 

Dr. Milton W. & Mrs. Ruth I. Roggenkamp Scholarship – Rhiley Patton 

Eddie & Robert Hammond, Everett Mason VFW Post 6160 Scholarship – Rhiley Patton Elsia Patricia Cox Memorial Scholarship – Mattie Pope 

English High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

First Savings Bank – Crawford Region Scholarship – Laken Hollen 

Howard and Julia King Endowment Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

Kaiser Family Scholarship – Mattie Pope 

Larry K. Eastridge Memorial Scholarship – Laken Hollen 

Leavenworth High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Laken Hollen, Joshua Talley Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship – Sarah Stutzman

CFCC Marengo High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Eli Oglesby 

McIntosh Family Teaching Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

Metzger Family Agricultural Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

Milltown High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Nicholas Fow, Hannah Poe, Makaylin Sheckells 

Milltown United Methodist Church Scholarship – Eli Oglesby 

Norman A. Roggenkamp Memorial Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

Novy E. and Lula J. Gobbel Memorial Scholarship – Keith Brooks 

Patoka Elementary Alumni Scholarship – Rhiley Patton 

Philip Bird Memorial Scholarship – Mattie Pope 

Phillip E. Brown & Mary Louise Brown Scholarship – Makaylin Sheckells 

Roggenkamp Gold Star Mother Scholarship – Rhiley Patton 

Shawn Allen Howe Memorial Scholarship – Nathan Hogle 

Sheri Adams Zilke Memorial Scholarship – Laken Hollen 

Zachary Robert Allen Baseball Memorial Scholarship – Joshua Talley 

“Each of the funds listed represents a donor or donors who chose to assist students with their educations. The CFCC is proud to serve as a community partner with our growing list of donors,” said Christine Harbeson, CFCC executive director. “We recognize they could have spent their money on anything for their own pleasure; yet they chose to encourage and support these scholars. We are very grateful they chose to support Crawford County students!”   She continued, “We also appreciate our Education Co‐Chairwomen, Heather Minton and Susan Mason, along with 40 other community members who assisted in the dedicated evaluation work to ensure anonymity through the selection process. Additionally, we appreciate the staff at Crawford County High School. We know we are fortunate to have a wonderful working relationship with their staff. Here at the CFCC, we do not do anything alone. It takes a lot of people working together toward a common goal to help Crawford County residents on the road to success. My new favorite saying is, ‘It takes a county working together to make positive change.’ Thank you everyone for helping our community’s students!”  

To support one of these funds, discuss a new fund that supports Crawford County students, local nonprofits, an area of interest such as education or historic preservation, or even a specific cause, contact Christine Harbeson at charbeson‐cc@cf‐, or call (812) 365‐2900. The CFCC would love to talk with you about these and other exciting opportunities. 

The Community Foundation of Crawford County was founded in April 1998 by a volunteer Board of Directors that represented a variety of interests in Crawford County. To date, the CFCC has awarded almost $8 million in grants for programs/projects supporting Crawford County children and youth, education, housing, health and human services, the environment, technology advancements, literacy and the arts, and has awarded more than $2 million in scholarships benefiting Crawford County students. The CFCC currently manages more than 90 charitable funds on behalf of families, individuals, corporations and non‐profit organizations.    


Request a visitors guide

Learn about all that Crawford County has to offer with outdoor recreation, community events, lodging, dining, shopping, and more!

Crawford County is your destination for Outdoor Recreation! Plan a trip and start exploring today!

Signing up to list your business or organization on this Come to Crawford website is completely free! Sign up today.